Home > Uncategorized > Do Not Break…

Do Not Break…


So Lupe Fiasco and Kenna just put out a hot new song called “Resurrection” and the video focuses solely on the crisis and catastrophe that occurred in Haiti earlier this year (I cannot believe it has been almost two months now, wow).

For me, this song focuses the most on is the concept of resurrection — rebuilding oneself, not allowing oneself to be broken by circumstances, forging ahead even in spite of what you see right in front of you. It is about ” the love, the strength, the passion” of people that Lupe Fiasco calls out in the song.

And this made me think even more about the daily assaults upon our personhood to break us down…to make us believe that we should not do the right thing by strangers, that we should not help other people who seem to have nothing in common with us, that we should not open our hearts to the pain of others, regardless of their circumstances. These daily assaults come in a myriad of forms. Sometimes these are outright assaults or sometimes it is just when you are confronted with someone’s lies, thievery or insecurities.

I mean, isn’t this world a funny one in which we all bump into each other, at varying speeds and degrees, knocking each other around with our energies? Whether those energies are frenetic, slow as molasses, airy or heavy — we all are just molecules moving at the speed of sound, light…what have you.

Maybe  if we saw the world like that — maybe if we understood just how interconnected we all truly are…maybe, just maybe we wouldn’t treat people as a threat to our existence or our humanity. Maybe we wouldn’t harm people just because we are broken inside. Maybe we wouldn’t assume that we have to go it all alone in this world and just use people as pawns in our own scripts. Maybe.

And if not…if people are not going to see how interconnected the world is…then I say to all of you who see the world as a big interconnected highway of molecules moving with kinetic energy — I say to you…don’t let anyone break you. Don’t give in and give up hope for a better existence, for a better life, for the chance to rebuild and reinvent yourself every single day.

Instead…Be YOU. And then take who you are and focus on helping other people to understand that, focus on helping other people to not lose hope. Just as we need to do in Haiti…we must do it for everyone.

Share

  1. July 24, 2013 at 8:41 am

    Hi colleagues, its impressive piece of writing regarding educationand
    completely explained, keep it up all the time.

  2. September 13, 2013 at 8:37 pm

    Thank you a lot for sharing this with aall folks you really understand what
    you’re talking about! Bookmarked. Please also consult with my web
    site =). We can have a link exchange contract between us

  3. October 24, 2013 at 2:47 am

    Hey there fantastic website! Does running a blog
    similar to this require a great deal of work? I’ve very little understanding of coding however I had been hoping to start my own blog in the near
    future. Anyway, if you have any suggestions or techniques for new blog owners please share.
    I understand this is off topic nevertheless
    I just needed to ask. Many thanks!

  4. October 24, 2013 at 3:03 am

    Thanks for any ther infoprmative blog. Where else may I am getting that kind of info written in such an ideal approach?

    I’ve a mission that I am just now operating on, and I have
    been on the glance out for such info.

  5. August 24, 2014 at 12:54 am

    Hello i am kavin, its my first time to commenting anywhere, when i read this paragraph i thought i could also create comment due to this sensible article.

  6. August 30, 2014 at 9:39 am

    I really like your blog.. very nice colors &
    theme. Did you make this website yourself or did you hire
    someone to do it for you? Plz respond as I’m looking to design my own blog and would like to
    find out where u got this from. thank you

  7. September 23, 2014 at 2:42 pm

    hey there and thank you for your information – I’ve certainly picked up anything new from right here.
    I did however expertise a few technical points using this web
    site, since I experienced to reload the web site lots of times previous to I could get it to load properly.

    I had been wondering if your hosting is OK? Not that I’m complaining, but sluggish loading instances times will sometimes affect your
    placement in google and could damage your quality score if ads
    and marketing with Adwords. Anyway I am adding this RSS to my email
    and can look out for a lot more of your respective fascinating content.
    Ensure that you update this again very soon.

  8. October 12, 2014 at 3:12 am

    Hello friends, how is everything, and what you wish for to
    say on the topic of this article, in my view its truly remarkable designed for me.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

